включить русский язык
Home/На главную Search/Поиск E-Mail
JOINT INSTITUTE FOR NUCLEAR RESEARCH
LABORATORY
OF RADIATION BIOLOGY

 

Sector of mathematical modeling of radiation-induced effects

Research on the biological effect of high-energy heavy ions requires not only unique experimental facilities, but also a comprehensive theoretical assessment. A separate sector at the LRB is concerned with mathematical modeling problems. The Sector's main scientific activity is mathematical modeling of radiation-induced effects at the molecular and cellular levels. Through joint efforts of mathematicians, biophysicists, and computation specialists, a number of interdisciplinary theoretical studies are being performed focusing on the Monte Carlo modeling of energy deposition in charged particle tracks and calculation of molecular damage in the cell's sensitive structures — in particular, DNA damage. At higher levels of biological organization, the Sector does the analysis of the nonlinear dynamics of complex biochemical regulatory and repair systems and modeling neural network activity in the brain.

Main fields of research:

  • Modeling energy deposition processes in charged particle tracks and mechanisms of biomolecule damage emergence induced by radiations with different characteristics;
  • Development of mathematical models of the induction and repair of the key types of DNA damage in mammalian and human cells;
  • Quantitative calculation of the mutagenic effect of ionizing radiations with different linear energy transfer;
  • Modeling intra- and intercellular signal transport processes in the nervous system under exposure to ionizing radiations;
  • Mathematical modeling of synaptic signal transfer disorders and synaptic plasticity disorders under exposure to ionizing radiations;
  • Development of mathematical models of the functional activity of the neural systems of different parts of the brain under exposure to ionizing radiations.

The Sector's scientists did a series of studies on modeling the mutation process induced by radiations with different characteristics. In particular, a quantitative description was made of the whole complicated chain of molecular events: damage emergence, identification, and repair during the functioning of protein complex systems, including the formation of a mutation.

A calculation of the UV-induced mutation frequency in the uvrA and polA genes of E. coli bacterial cells with defects in the excision repair system , and in wild-type cells.

 

The action of accelerated heavy ions has its own specifics, which lead to the complex (clustered) damage of the DNA chain. The Sector's scientists perform calculations of energy deposition in heavy ion tracks and develop models of the emergence and repair pathways of such damage in mammalian and human cells.

A calculation of the repair kinetics of DNA double-strand breaks induced in human skin fibroblasts by different ionizing radiations at a dose of 1 Gy expressed as the number of γ-H2AX foci.

 

However, the most difficult and urgent problem of modern radiobiology — a challenge to theoreticians — is the just appeared issue of the mechanisms of the central nervous system disorders induced by ionizing radiations of different quality at the molecular and cellular levels.

A calculation of 500 MeV/nucleon 12C ion tracks in the pyramidal neuron of the CA1 region of the rat hippocampus (a) and the corresponding spatial energy distribution (b).

To solve the ultimate task, calculations are done of energy deposition in tracks hitting a population of nervous cells with complex morphology, and analyzed are the key types of radiation damage and disorders emerging in the functioning of ion channels and synapses at the isolated neuron level. But it is only the modeling of changes in the activity of neural networks of different parts of the brain that can clear up how these damage types and disorders will influence the cognitive functions. As the final result, such multi-level calculation scheme will allow evaluation of the probability of failures, for example, in different types of memory and learning, which has critical importance for space radiobiology.

Postal address:
LRB, JINR, Joliot-Curie 6,
141980 Dubna, Moscow region, Russia

Phone: +7 (49621) 62688
Telefax: +7 (49621) 65948


Copyright © LRB, JINR, Oleg Belov

switch to English
Home/На главную Search/Поиск E-Mail
JOINT INSTITUTE FOR NUCLEAR RESEARCH
ЛАБОРАТОРИЯ
РАДИАЦИОННОЙ БИОЛОГИИ

 


Сектор математического моделирования радиационно-индуцированных эффектов

Задача изучения биологического действия тяжелых ионов высоких энергий требует не только наличия уникальных экспериментальных установок, но и всесторонней теоретической проработки. Проблемами математического моделирования в ЛРБ занимается соответствующий сектор.

Основная научная задача сектора состоит в математическом моделировании радиационно-индуцированных эффектов на молекулярном и клеточном уровне.

Совместными усилиями математиков, биофизиков и специалистов в области компьютерных расчетов проводится целый ряд междисциплинарных теоретических исследований в области моделирования энерговыделения в треках заряженных частиц методами Монте-Карло, расчета молекулярных повреждений в чувствительных структурах клетки, в особенности, повреждений ДНК. На более высоких уровнях биологической организации это анализ нелинейной динамики сложных биохимических регуляторных и репарационных систем, моделирование активности нейронных сетей в структурах головного мозга.

Ключевые направления исследований:

  • моделирование процессов энерговыделения в треках заряженных частиц и механизмов возникновения повреждения биомолекул в результате действия излучений с различными характеристиками;
  • разработка математических моделей индукции и репарации ключевых типов повреждений ДНК в клетках млекопитающих и человека;
  • количественный расчет мутагенного воздействия ионизирующих излучений с различной линейной передачей энергии;
  • моделирование процессов внутриклеточного и межклеточного транспорта сигналов и молекул в нервной системе при действии ионизирующих излучений;
  • математическое моделирование нарушений синаптической передачи сигналов и синаптической пластичности при действии ионизирующих излучений;
  • разработка математических моделей, характеризующих функциональную активность нейронных систем различных участков головного мозга при действии ионизирующих излучений.

Сотрудниками сектора была выполнена серия работ по моделированию мутационного процесса, индуцированного излучениями с различными характеристиками. При этом удалось количественно описать всю сложнейшую цепочку молекулярных событий, начиная с возникновения повреждения, их распознавания и репарации в ходе работы систем белковых комплексов вплоть до возникновения мутаций.

Расчет частоты УФ-индуцированных мутаций в бактериальных клетках E. coli, имеющих дефекты в системе эксцизионной репарации в uvrA-гене и polA-гене, а также в клетках дикого типа.

 

Действие тяжелых ионов имеет свою специфику, приводя к сложным (кластерным) повреждениям цепи ДНК. Сотрудники сектора занимаются расчетом энерговыделения в треках тяжелых ионов, моделированием возникновения и путей репарации таких повреждений в клетках млекопитающих и человека.

Расчет кинетики репарации двунитевых разрывов ДНК, выраженных в количестве γ-H2AX-фокусов, в фибробластах кожи человека при действии различных ионизирующих излучений в дозе 1 Гр.

 

Однако, наиболее сложной и актуальной проблемой современной радиобиологии, своеобразным вызовом для теоретиков, является совсем недавно возникший вопрос о механизмах нарушения деятельности ЦНС под действием ионизирующих излучений различного качества на молекулярном и клеточном уровне.

Расчет треков тяжёлых ионов углерода 12С с энергией 500 МэВ/нуклон в пирамидном нейроне области CA1 гиппокампа крыс (а) и соответствующее пространственное распределения энергии (б).

Для решения поставленной сверхзадачи нами проводятся расчеты энерговыделения в треках, попадающих в популяцию нервных клеток со сложной морфологией, анализируются ключевые типы радиационных повреждений и возникающие нарушения работе ионных каналов и синапсов на уровне отдельных нейронов. Но как они скажутся на осуществлении когнитивных функций, может дать ответ только моделирование изменений в активности нейронных сетей различных отделов головного мозга. В итоге, такая многоуровневая схема расчетов позволит оценить вероятность сбоев в работе, например, различных видов памяти и обучения, что критически важно для задач космической радиобиологии.

Postal address:
LRB, JINR, Joliot-Curie 6,
141980 Dubna, Moscow region, Russia

Phone: +7 (49621) 62688
Telefax: +7 (49621) 65948


Copyright © LRB, JINR, Oleg Belov